Voodoo Viewer Begins …

Welcome to the Voodoo Viewer project.

The first thing I wanted to do was get the very latest version of the Viewer 2 source code. Looking on the Second Life wiki, there is instructions to a  Linden Labs subversion repository, but this only contains old versions and Snowglobe source code. There is an edit in the wiki pointing to a BitBucket repository which seems to be the one being updated by LL now, the ‘viewer-development’ branch is the one to go for, because it’s the latest and easiest to set up.

http://bitbucket.org/lindenlab/viewer-development

After downloading that, unpacking it and moving it to a directory on the root of my hard drive, the next thing to do is get the third party libraries required to be able to create the build and compile the viewer. This has now been simplified as a lot of previously required configuration is now done automatically.

First up is FMOD. I downloaded the FMOD library from …

http://www.fmod.org/files/fmod3/fmodapi375win.zip

After unpacking that, you need to copy some of the API files over into the viewer source code directories.

  • from fmodapi375win\api\inc\ copy fmod.h and fmod_errors.h
  • to c:\VoodooViewer\linden\libraries\include
  • from fmodapi375win\api\lib copy fmodvc.lib renaming it to fmod.lib
  • to c:\VoodooViewer\linden\libraries\i686-win32\lib\release
  • and 
    c:\VoodooViewer\linden\libraries\i686-win32\lib\debug

  • from fmodapi375win\api copy fmod.dll
  • to c:\VoodooViewer\linden\libraries\i686-win32\lib\release
  • and 
    c:\VoodooViewer\linden\libraries\i686-win32\lib\debug

There are other libraries we need, but the viewer will build now, so I wanted to give it a whirl.
I already have Python installed and configured on my machine, so I won’t go over those steps.
http://www.python.org/download/releases/2.6.6/

I open a command window on my Vista machine as an Administrator, CD to c:\VoodooViewer\linden\indra and execute the command ‘python develop.py -G VC80’. Then it’s time to go off and make coffee because the Python script is creating the files for the Visual Studio solution and will take probably about 20 minutes.
When I get back everything has finished successfully, and I have a new directory in my indra directory called build-VC80.
I have Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Professional installed, but the free express version will work fine. My advice is to stick to the 2005 version over later ones because there can be problems with builds. There is nothing in later versions of Visual Studio that will make creating a viewer easier for you.
Next, I navigate to my new build-VC80 folder and double click SecondLife.sln to open the solution in Visual Studio 2005. After clicking the ‘build’ button it is time to go off and make more coffee because building the entire SL client from scratch can take some time. When it has been built once, subsequent builds will be incremental and much faster to compile.
I get back after wasting some time and the build is successful, so I fire it up and login to Second Life.
I will keep posting here as I make progress with the new viewer and attempt to implement features. If you are the techy type, you may want to follow the instructions alongside this project and make your own viewer.
Due to my extremely busy Second Life, I won’t be able to answer questions about this project in world, but please feel free to post your comments, and I will try to answer everything here if I can.
Good luck and above all, have fun !
Monkey
Leave a Reply

